Central Arkansas’ Lewis George Garners 2017-18 Men’s Golfer of the Year

first_imgStephen F. Austin’s Andy Lopez is the Freshman of the Year and a selection to the All-Conference Third Team. The Dallas, Texas, native had a 74.67 scoring average for the year and finished in the top 10 three times this season. He was the March Golfer of the Month. FRISCO, Texas – Central Arkansas’ Lewis George is the 2017-18 Southland Conference Men’s Golf Player of the Year, the league announced Thursday with the all-conference teams. All yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition. The junior from Cheshire, England, also won the David Toms Intercollegiate, hosted by LSU, in October and received runner-up honors at the Hummingbird Intercollegiate and Duck Commander Intercollegiate. He led the Bears in scoring average for the season at 72.4 and will compete as an individual at the NCAA College Station Regional on May 14-16. William Holcomb So. Sam Houston State Crockett, Texas Honorable Mention: Jake Hendrix, Stephen F. Austin The Bearkats placed three members on the All-Conference First Team in senior Jake McCrory and sophomores William Holcomb and Noah Steele. Sam Houston is the first team to accomplish this feat since Southeastern Louisiana did so in 2010. Christiansen was also a second-team pick. Sam Houston State picked up two individual superlatives in Austen Christiansen and head coach Brandt Kieschnick. Christiansen, a junior transfer from BYU, tied for fifth individually at the Southland Championship to help the Bearkats claim their third title in five years. He holds a 73.48 scoring average and 1.76 score versus par this season heading into the team’s showing at the NCAA Norman Regional on May 14-16. Kieschnick wins his third Coach of the Year award and first since 2015 after leading his team to three wins on the season and the program’s third NCAA Regional appearance. George is the second consecutive Bear to earn the award after Louis Tomlinson was voted for the accolade in 2017. He is also an automatic selection to the All-Conference First Team after finishing first at the 2018 Southland Conference Men’s Golf Championship last week, carding a 71-72-73 for the tournament. Name Class School Hometown Name Class School Hometown Second Team Blake Elliott Jr. McNeese Liberty Hill, Texas Alex Clouse Fr. Abilene Christian Flower Mound, Texas Blake Elliott of McNeese rounds out the first team. The junior from Liberty Hill, Texas, finished second at this year’s Southland Championship and was selected for the NCAA College Station Regional.  Name Class School Hometown Austen Christiansen Jr. Sam Houston State Houston, Texas Jake McCrory2 Sr. Sam Houston State Deer Park, Texas All-Conference teams and individual superlatives are voted on by each league school’s head coach and sports information director. Voting for oneself or one’s own athletes is not permitted.center_img Player of the Year: Lewis George, Central ArkansasFreshman of the Year: Andy Lopez, Stephen F. AustinNewcomer of the Year: Austen Christiansen, Sam Houston StateCoach of the Year: Brandt Kieschnick, Sam Houston State Garrett Glanton Jr. Abilene Christian Dallas, Texas Ian Berrigan2 Sr. McNeese Helotes, Texas Carlos Trevino2 Sr. Houston Baptist Monterrey, Mexico Joris Etlin Jr. Southeastern Louisiana Frejus, France 2 Two-time All-Conference selection^ 2018 Southland Championship top finisher Rodrigo Rivas Sr. Central Arkansas Santiago, Chile Albert Badosa-Soler2 Sr. Nicholls Girona, Spain Lewis George^ Jr. Central Arkansas Cheshire, England Third Team McCrory, McNeese’s Ian Berrigan, SFA’s Angelo Leyvani, Houston Baptist’s Carlos Trevino and Nicholls’ Albert Badosa-Soler are each making their second appearance on a Southland All-Conference team. Angelo Leyvani2 Jr. Stephen F. Austin San Antonio, Texas Andy Lopez Fr. Stephen F. Austin Dallas, Texas First Team 2017-18 Southland Conference Men’s Golf All-Conference Teams Noah Steele So. Sam Houston State Kingston, Ontariolast_img read more